Author Topic: D16A6 or D16A1?  (Read 4787 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TheScotsman

  • Global Moderator
  • Steppin' it up!
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 1471
  • Karma: 3

  • Activity
    0%
D16A6 or D16A1?
« on: April 24, 2012, 10:15:24 pm »
looking to pick up one of the two and do a full rebuild (all new gaskets , pistons,rings , hot tanked) what are your thoughts on these motors? which would make more power with common bolt ons? pro's con's?

Offline Bus Driver J

  • Administrator
  • Steppin' it up!
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 3536
  • Karma: 84

  • Activity
    0%
Re: D16A6 or D16A1?
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2012, 01:54:43 am »
My vote is for the A1 but Im biased. Pulling a high comp A6 for a ZC (basically an A1). Problem is finding replaceme nt parts for A1 is harder. A6s are everywher e compared to them. Special dizzys, cam sensor, etc. Intakes (not manifolds), exhaust, trans, and mounts are the same but it ends there.

Its all up to you though. Youll get better power out of an A1 stock vs stock, cheaper power with PM7 pistons in an A6, and more readily accessibl e parts with an A6. (But A1 is DOHC ;) )
Quote from: cbeengineering
trying to be cool by having a "ole skoo" car, I guess.


Offline TheScotsman

  • Global Moderator
  • Steppin' it up!
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 1471
  • Karma: 3

  • Activity
    0%
Re: D16A6 or D16A1?
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2012, 12:57:30 pm »
is the wiring the same for both , and if you get a sec BDJ do you mind listing exact things that i would have to change to drop one of these in my car , 91 dpfi std , thanks buddy

Offline Bus Driver J

  • Administrator
  • Steppin' it up!
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 3536
  • Karma: 84

  • Activity
    0%
Re: D16A6 or D16A1?
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2012, 06:23:04 pm »
Wiring is the same for the most part. Only real differenc e is the dizzy. You can buy the adapters on eBay (last I looked) to make it a plug and play for MPFI. You would need to do the normal dual point to multi point rewiring. Other than that, it should be a normal D for D swap. I havent done mine yet so I dont know the little details.
Quote from: cbeengineering
trying to be cool by having a "ole skoo" car, I guess.


Offline TheScotsman

  • Global Moderator
  • Steppin' it up!
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 1471
  • Karma: 3

  • Activity
    0%
Re: D16A6 or D16A1?
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2012, 08:07:16 pm »
axles, throttle cable , clutch cable should be the same correct?

Offline bigdare23

  • Monarch
  • Administrator
  • Steppin' it up!
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 3965
  • Karma: 65535
  • Mr. CRX

  • Activity
    0%
    • East Coast EF Civics
Re: D16A6 or D16A1?
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2012, 09:53:31 pm »
d16a6

a d16a1 is a bolt up swap in a 3rd gen not a 4th.
-1988 CRX Si v2.0 coming soon

Offline TheScotsman

  • Global Moderator
  • Steppin' it up!
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 1471
  • Karma: 3

  • Activity
    0%
Re: D16A6 or D16A1?
« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2012, 09:56:06 pm »
d16a6

a d16a1 is a bolt up swap in a 3rd gen not a 4th.
holy crap that post had so much info ,lol

Offline bigdare23

  • Monarch
  • Administrator
  • Steppin' it up!
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 3965
  • Karma: 65535
  • Mr. CRX

  • Activity
    0%
    • East Coast EF Civics
Re: D16A6 or D16A1?
« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2012, 09:58:36 pm »
holy crap that post had so much info ,lol

In two lines, I basically save you the trouble of purchasin g a motor and rebuildin g it just to find out that it will not bolt up.

We call that efficienc y.

-1988 CRX Si v2.0 coming soon

Offline TheScotsman

  • Global Moderator
  • Steppin' it up!
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 1471
  • Karma: 3

  • Activity
    0%
Re: D16A6 or D16A1?
« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2012, 10:01:18 pm »
In two lines, I basically save you the trouble of purchasin g a motor and rebuildin g it just to find out that it will not bolt up.

We call that efficienc y.
^ guess you learned that at Tech ;)

Offline bigdare23

  • Monarch
  • Administrator
  • Steppin' it up!
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 3965
  • Karma: 65535
  • Mr. CRX

  • Activity
    0%
    • East Coast EF Civics
Re: D16A6 or D16A1?
« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2012, 10:05:53 pm »
^ guess you learned that at Tech ;)


Yep Tech taught me not put a A1 in my damn EF haha
-1988 CRX Si v2.0 coming soon

Offline TheScotsman

  • Global Moderator
  • Steppin' it up!
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 1471
  • Karma: 3

  • Activity
    0%
Re: D16A6 or D16A1?
« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2012, 10:09:00 pm »
hahahah , if i go the A6 route , is there any internal parts i can upgrade to , to gain more power?

Offline bigdare23

  • Monarch
  • Administrator
  • Steppin' it up!
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 3965
  • Karma: 65535
  • Mr. CRX

  • Activity
    0%
    • East Coast EF Civics
Re: D16A6 or D16A1?
« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2012, 10:22:32 pm »
I would go with ZC pistons, and use a z6/y8 head gasket. That would bump your compressi on up a little bit.
-1988 CRX Si v2.0 coming soon

Offline TheScotsman

  • Global Moderator
  • Steppin' it up!
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 1471
  • Karma: 3

  • Activity
    0%
Re: D16A6 or D16A1?
« Reply #12 on: April 25, 2012, 10:29:01 pm »
I would go with ZC pistons, and use a z6/y8 head gasket. That would bump your compressi on up a little bit.
this is the info i'm lookin for ;)

Offline Bus Driver J

  • Administrator
  • Steppin' it up!
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 3536
  • Karma: 84

  • Activity
    0%
Re: D16A6 or D16A1?
« Reply #13 on: April 26, 2012, 07:07:52 am »
Its all up to you though. Youll get better power out of an A1 stock vs stock, cheaper power with PM7 pistons in an A6, and more readily accessibl e parts with an A6. (But A1 is DOHC ;) )

...ZC pistons are PM7s


Dare, you are correct. I forgot about that. The ZC and A1 are almost identical minus the drivers side mount bracket. You have to make a mount for it to work. Im sorry if I steered you in the wrong direction Scotsman.

Ill sell you the A6 thats in my hatch right now. All it needs is rings. I replaced the rod/main bearings 2 years ago. Probably 15-20k miles on them. I would have done the rings too but the ones I got from the store were gaped too big out of the box so I reused the old ones. Currently has ZC pistons and Z6 head gasket with A6 head/cam. If you swap a Z6 head back on (had it for a while), itll raise the compressi on to 12:1. Fuckin screams man. High octane only and 6degs of ign timing. I hung with Jermaine in his B16 hatch until I ran out of RPMs. Made 96hp UNTUNED, no vtec, shitty intake, Greddy header, stock cat, and stock exhaust. Fun fun fun to drive. But the cam locked up (long story, previous owner) and i went back to A6. Now its at 11:1 compressi on and still fun to drive, still untuned, lol.

Itll give me a reason to get off my ass and rebuild the ZC thats on the stand waiting on me. Ill let you drive it before I pull it if you want to.
Quote from: cbeengineering
trying to be cool by having a "ole skoo" car, I guess.


Offline TheScotsman

  • Global Moderator
  • Steppin' it up!
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 1471
  • Karma: 3

  • Activity
    0%
Re: D16A6 or D16A1?
« Reply #14 on: April 26, 2012, 08:48:28 am »
pm me a price bub , and i'll start gettin funds up


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
8 Replies
1516 Views
Last post March 23, 2010, 07:21:55 pm
by apswaw
7 Replies
1333 Views
Last post September 19, 2010, 11:01:14 pm
by Caged91ZC
2 Replies
1384 Views
Last post October 17, 2010, 09:58:57 pm
by 91SiEF
2 Replies
1101 Views
Last post February 03, 2011, 09:44:16 pm
by spriggan
2 Replies
1113 Views
Last post August 27, 2012, 11:28:10 pm
by EFJames